Sail Canada’s 2023 Sail East, Central and West to be held in Glen Haven, N.S., Hudson, QC and Wabamun Lake, AB

Kingston, February 22, 2023 – Sail Canada announced today the details for its 2023 Sail East, Sail Central and Sail West regional championships to be held in July in Glen Haven, N.S., Hudson, QC, and Wabamun Lake, AB.

The first event will be Sail Canada’s 2023 Sail East and will be held July 14-16 at the St. Margaret Sailing Club in Glen Haven, Nova Scotia, during the Bay Wind Regatta. The competition will host athletes from that province as well as from New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland-and-Labrador.

One weekend later, July 20-23, sailors from Ontario and Quebec will compete at Sail Central, to be held at the Hudson Yacht Club in Hudson, QC, during the Fruitbowl Regatta.

Finally, the weekend after that, athletes from Western Canada, including Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut, will gather at the Wabamun Sailing Club in Alberta on July 27-30.

Notices of races for each competition will soon be available and registration will open in the coming months.

Each of these three regional championships, open to all competitors, showcase approximately 150 sailors annually and are attended by:
-U15 sailors in the Optimist class;
-U17 sailors in the ILCA 4, ILCA 6, Club 420 and 29er classes;
-Open class sailors in ILCA 4, ILCA 6, ILCA 7, Club 420, 29er and Optimist classes.

These competitions provide a chance for sailors to train and compete with high-level sailors in their region, in addition to serving as talent identification opportunities for regional and provincial sailing teams, as development and mentoring opportunities for coaches, as well as training and development opportunities for officials and volunteers.

2023 Sail East (at the Bay Wind Regatta)
July 14-16, 2023
St. Margaret Sailing Club
Glen Haven, N.S.

2023 Sail Central (at the Fruitbowl Regatta)
July 20-23, 2023
Hudson Yacht Club
Hudson, QC

2023 Sail West
July 27-30, 2023
Wabamun Sailing Club
Parkland County, AB

More info is available through Sail Canada’s website at

About Sail Canada
Established in 1931, Sail Canada is the national governing body for the sport of sailing in the country. Sail Canada is a leading international sailing nation, proud of its world class athletes, lifelong participants and inclusive culture. The organization and its members are committed to excellence by developing and training its leaders, athletes, sailors, instructors, coaches and officials. With the valued support from our partners, the Provincial Sailing Associations and our member clubs, schools, organizations and stakeholders, sailing is promoted in all its forms. By setting standards and delivering programs from home pond to podium for Canadians of all ages and abilities, from dinghies to keelboats, cruising to navigation, windsurfing to powerboating and accessible sailing, Sail Canada sets sail for all, sail to win and sail for life.

A sport in the Olympic program since the first Games in 1896, except in 1904, the pursuit of success in these Games is what fuels the focus of Sail Canada as Canadian athletes have so far achieved nine Olympic and five Paralympic medals.