Sail Canada announces the 2020 Canadian Sailing Youth Squad

Sail Canada is proud to nominate the following athletes to the 2020 Canadian Sailing Youth Squad. With the help of our clubs, provincial partners, coaches, and support staff, we were able to name the new squad. 

In order to qualify for the Canadian Sailing Youth Squad, each sailor attended one of 9 regional Talent ID camps which attracted 186 sailors from across Canada. Of the 186 that tried out, 45 were invited to attend the Canadian Sailing Youth Squad trials camp that was held January 1-7 in Clearwater, Florida. From this camp, 33 sailors have been nominated to the 2020 Canadian Sailing Youth Squad.

Each of these athletes must now assess and commit to their programs as per the guidance is given by the Sail Canada’s performance team. Upon receiving written commitment the athlete will be formally selected to the Squad. The commitments required by the sailors include competing at their age-appropriate class World Championships, one European event and attendance at the Canadian Sailing Team & Development Squad Camp in October of 2020. 

Athletes were assessed on skill, talent and compatibility to a certain class in which they are currently sailing. 

Sail Canada has made a commitment to investing in our young performance sailors and the 2020 Canadian Sailing Youth Squad is the start of our long term performance strategy that will be implemented over the next two years” Mike Milner – High Performance Director, Sail Canada

Details on the Youth Squad for 2021 and the Regional Talent ID camps will be coming out soon. 

I 420 

Jackson Macauley

Maya Heidenreich

Moritz Heidenreich


49erFX/ 470 (Mixed)

Madeline Gillis

Jack Gogan

Savannah Taylor

Alex Fraser


29er Female 

Adrianna Baird

Siobahn Galonka

Audrey Staples

Tate Howell

Kate Sargent

Rebecca Heller


29er Men 

Nathan Dufar Calder

Andreas Steinitz

Thomas staples

William Staples


Laser Radial – Women

Elsie Gillis

Ellen Juhasz

Carling Davies

Aiden Dennis

Romy Craig Maheu


Laser Radial (Men)

Philippe Delangis

Aethin Cubitt

Blair Treadwell

Luke Vincent

Fraser Buck

Matthew LaLonde

Thomas Plamondon

Trevor Davis

Cailem Austin


Laser Standard

Marc Andrew Robin

Ryan Anderson