Nominations for Sail Canada Annual Awards are now open

This year‰Ûªs awards will cover 2020 and 2021

Kingston, April 27, 2022 ‰ÛÒ Sail Canada is pleased to announce that nominations for its Annual Awards are now open.

Starting now, Sail Canada is looking to receive nominations from the Canadian Sailing community to recognize outstanding sailors, athletes, coaches, instructors, officials, volunteers and events through one of Sail Canada‰Ûªs 12 Annual Award categories.

Nominations previously submitted for the 2020 awards are still valid and will be considered.

Nomination forms for each of the awards are available online at Once they have been filled out, they can be sent no later than May 25, 2022 to Sail Canada‰Ûªs National Office at

On this occasion, the following awards will each be awarded once, based on activities/performances that occurred from January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2021:

-Gallagher Skippers‰Ûª Plan Male Athlete/Team of the Year

-Gallagher Skippers‰Ûª Plan Female Athlete/Team of the Year

-Marvin McDill Memorial Award (or Canadian Sailing Team Rookie of the Year Award)

-Male and Female Bill Burk Memorial Youth Elite Award

-Coach of the Year Award

-Gerry Roufs Trophy

On this occasion, the following awards will each be awarded twice, once for 2020 (based on activity that occurred from January 1, 2020, to December 31, 2020), and once for 2021 (based on activity that occurred from January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2021):

-Volunteer of the Year Award

-Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award for Developing Sailors

-William Abbott Senior Trophy (Sail Training Program of the Year)

-Instructor of the Year

-City of Kingston Regatta of the Year Award

-Recreation Event Award

-Chisholm Trophy for Excellence in Race Management

The recipients of these awards will be honoured virtually in June.

The 2022 Rolex Sailor of the Year Award will be attributed based on activities/performances that occurred from August 7th, 2021, to September 13, 2022. Nominations are now open and will be accepted until September 14, 2022. The Rolex Sailor of the Year Award will be awarded at Canada‰Ûªs Celebration of Sailing to be held October 19, 2022, at a location to be announced shortly. More details on the Rolex Sailor of the Year Award, including a link to the online nomination form, are available at

About Sail Canada

Established in 1931, Sail Canada is the national governing body for the sport of sailing in the country. Sail Canada is a leading international sailing nation, proud of its world class athletes, lifelong participants and inclusive culture. The organization and its members are committed to excellence by developing and training its leaders, athletes, sailors, instructors, coaches and officials. With the valued support from our partners, the Provincial Sailing Associations and our member clubs, schools, organizations and stakeholders, sailing is promoted in all its forms. By setting standards and delivering programs from home pond to podium for Canadians of all ages and abilities, from dinghies to keelboats, cruising to navigation, windsurfing to powerboating and accessible sailing, Sail Canada sets sail for all, sail to win and sail for life.

A sport in the Olympic program since the first Games in 1896, except in 1904, the pursuit of success in these Games is what fuels the focus of Sail Canada as Canadian athletes have so far achieved nine Olympic and five Paralympic medals.