Friends and family of Nathan Cowan donated this award to the CYA in 2002 to honor the memory of Nathan Cowan, a Canadian Sailing Team member, who died tragically in a car accident on February 16, 2002. In 2002, after years of determination and persistence, Nathan finally achieved his goal of making the National Team. Nathan’s friends and family have designed the criteria of this award in order to support athletes like Nathan, and help them through these years of hard work. In order to be eligible, the candidate must:

a) Have a record of outstanding achievement in national and international competitions, have followed a committed training program during the award year, and brought recognition to Canadian competitive sailing.
b) Have demonstrated an effort in fundraising through sponsorship and private contributions.
c) Be 19 or over as of December 31st in the year of nomination.
d) Must not be a member of the Canadian Sailing Team, or be a carded athlete during the award year.
e) Have demonstrated leadership and sportsmanship.
f) Be a Canadian Citizen or permanent resident of Canada.

2022 Mac Morrin
2021 Forrest Wachholz
2020 Norman Struthers
2019 James Juhasz
2018 Clara Gravely
2017 Will Jones & Evan DePaul
2016 Fillah Karim
2015 Max Gallant
2014 Kyle Martin
2013 Sam Gustin & Ian Woodbury
2012 Jacob & Graeme Saunders (Saunders Team 470)
2011 Tom Ramshaw
2010 Tyler Meyrick
2009 Robert Davis
2008 Lee Parkhill
2007 Stéphane Locas & Oliver Bone
2006 Marc Farmer & Trevor Parekh
2005 David Wright
2004 Conner Higgins