Meet the recipients of the Recreational Event of the Year – Coupe Femina

In 2014, Michelle Cantin put her ideas into shape with the start of Coupe Femina. The now annual all women’s event aims to bring females together to take part in a two-day event based in Lévis, Québec. 

Coupe Femina shines with its dynamism in achieving its mission which is: to promote female leadership, to encourage and support the participation of women and girls aged 15 to 17 in sport, to promote sailing for women.

With constant growth since its creation in 2014, 2019 hit a participation record: 206 registrations, 174 boardings, 34 boats. aged between 15 and 79, participants obtained from 67 cities and municipalities in Quebec, as well as the Ontario region and France.


How do you feel about having been selected as the recipient of the recreational event of the year?

Pampered, moved and grateful to have achieved such a fine distinction


Your program has grown over the years, what do you associate this success with?

I think that Coupe Femina has developed because of the efforts put in place to encourage and motivate women to excel, to be daring, to take their place by focusing on sport and action as a positive means to achieve these goals.


Your program allows young women to discover the sport, what is the key for those inspired to participate?

We tour high schools in the region, we present conferences, we mobilize young people to “dare” to get out of their comfort zone and to register for the “Emerging Crews” competition.


If you could give advice to women, what would it be?

“Dare”, “Dare, take your place”, “Dare to develop your talents and passions”


This award will be celebrated on Friday March 6, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. at the Carlu in Toronto, ON.




This award was established in 1997 to recognize a club, an organization, an individual or a group that has contributed to the promotion of recreational sailing in Canada.

The club, organization or individual nominated for this award must be Canadian based, and affiliated with Sail Canada.