CSYS Trials Camp Wraps Up in Clearwater

January 8, 2020

CSYS Trials Camp Wraps Up in Clearwater

Les marins rentrent de Clearwater aujourd’hui alors que le premier camp de l’Équipe Canadienne Junior de Voile (ÉCJV) se termine.

Le camp a duré cinq jours et 45 marins ont participé chaque jour à des séances de fitness, sur l’eau et en classe. Chaque marin présent a été sélectionné parmi plus de 200 candidats, qui ont été identifiés à travers une série de camps d’identification de talents régionaux et YOTS (séminaire de formation olympique de la jeunesse) qui ont eu lieu avant les championnats de la jeunesse de Voile Canada.

La sélection dans ce type de camp est quelque chose de nouveau pour la voile au niveau national. Les résultats ont été mis de côté et les compétences, l'engagement, les paramètres physiques, la coachabilité et d'autres facteurs ont été utilisés pour sélectionner une liste d'athlètes à nommer dans cette équipe. À la fois la joie et le chagrin, tous deux également compréhensibles, mais aucun des athlètes impliqués ne doit être consterné, ils sont parmi les meilleurs et chacun d'entre eux a la possibilité de réussir à la fois en voile et surtout dans la vie. Le sport de haute performance est intrinsèquement «injuste», car certains ne sont pas sélectionnés, seule une poignée atteindra leur objectif ultime, mais inculquer un engagement envers le succès est fondamental pour les capacités futures du Canada à se mesurer au niveau international.

Ken Dool

Le but du camp était de rassembler les meilleurs jeunes marins du Canada dans toutes les classes, ainsi que les meilleurs entraîneurs du Canada afin de faire la sélection ultime pour l’ÉCJV.

Les marins ont eu l’occasion de parler aux entraîneurs de leur place dans le parcours de performance de Voile Canada et d’explorer la classe dans laquelle ils s’intègrent le mieux pour réussir en voile de haute performance. De plus, ils ont passé du temps à essayer différentes classes et ont même eu la chance de naviguer sur des Nacra 15 avec l’entraîneur olympique américain Rob ….

Clearwater a fourni d’excellentes conditions de navigation avec beaucoup de vent et de grosses vagues. Le camp s’est terminé hier avec une matinée de course aux médailles amusante et compétitive.

Un grand merci à tous nos partenaires provinciaux et nationaux, Sport Canada, À nous le podium et Helly Hansen, ce camp n’aurait pas été possible sans eux.


  • Rolex
  • Helly Hansen
  • Skippers' Plan
  • Bank of Montreal
  • Government of Canada

CSYS Trials Camp Wraps Up in Clearwater

January 7, 2020

CSYS Trials Camp Wraps Up in Clearwater

Sailors fly home from Clearwater today as the first Canadian Sailing Youth Squad trails camp comes to an end.

The camp lasted five days with 45 sailors partaking in fitness, on-water sessions and in-classroom sessions each day. Each sailor in attendance was selected from over 200 applicants, who were identified through a series of Regionals Talent ID Camps and Nationals YOTS (Youth Olympic Training Seminar Camps) which took place ahead of the Sail Canada Youth Championships.

"Selection from this type of camp is something new for sailing at the National level. Results were put aside and skill, commitment, physical metrics, coachability and other factors were used to select a shortlist of athletes to nominate to this team. With selection comes both joy and heartbreak, both equally understandable but not one of the athletes involved need be dismayed,  they are amongst the best and each and every one of them have the opportunity to succeed both in sailing and more importantly in life. High-Performance sport is inherently “unfair” as some are not selected, only a handful will make their ultimate goal, but instilling a commitment to success is fundamental to Canada’s future abilities to measure up at the international level."

Ken Dool - National Performance Coach

The goal of the camp was to bring together Canada’s best youth sailors across all classes, along with Canada’s top coaches to make the ultimate selection for the 2020 Canadian Sailing Youth Squad.

Sailors were given the opportunity to talk to coaches about where they fit in the Sail Canada performance pathway and explore which class they best fit into to succeed in high-performance sailing. Additionally, they spent some time trying out different classes and even had the chance to sail Nacra 15s with US Olympic Coach Robbie Daniel.

Clearwater delivered great sailing conditions with lots of wind and big waves. The camp wrapped up yesterday with a fun and competitive morning of medal racing.

 

I am so glad that I had the opportunity to attend this camp, I had never attended a camp quite like it before. Because this was a selection camp, the intensity of the training was high. All of the athletes were so eager to learn everything they could from the great selection of coaches. It was very eye-opening to have the best youth sailors, in both double and single-handed boats, from all over Canada training together. I certainly walked away from this camp excited for what’s to come!

Maddie Gillis, 3x Youth Worlds Team Member

A big thank you to all our Provincial partners and national partners, Sport Canada, Own the Podium and Helly Hansen, this camp would not have been possible without them.


  • Rolex
  • Helly Hansen
  • Gallagher Skippers' Plan
  • BMO Sail Canada MasterCard
  • Government of Canada