Second Call for Nominations

Second Call for Nominations

Second Call for Nominations: Nominations for two positions of Director at Large are to be received by Sail Canada no later than September 10, 2016.

The Nominating Committee of Sail Canada is calling for nominations from interested individuals who are prepared to help shape the future of the sport of Sailing in Canada. Candidates for election to the Board must be at least 18 and be a member in good standing of a member club, class or other member organization.

The Board consists of the President, six Directors at large and two Athlete Directors. Every year at the AGM, Board vacancies are replaced through an election by the Members. The term of office for the President is two years and is eligible to be elected for a second term. Directors at large serve for three years in rotation with two retiring each year. Directors at large are eligible to be elected for a second term. Athlete Directors are elected by members of the Canadian Sailing Team in a separate process.

The 2016 Sail Canada Annual General Meeting (October 21, 2016) will mark the end of the first, three year terms for two Director at large positions on the Board of Directors.

A nominating committee performs a recruiting role in accordance with the Sail Canada by-laws, issuing the call for candidates and publishing the list of candidates with brief biographies.

The election process must ensure that there are a minimum of two members of each gender on the board of directors, not including the Athlete Directors. The nominating committee are also tasked with ensuring that there is reasonable representation of official languages, regions and differing physical abilities amongst the candidates.
Interested persons should send their name, contact information and qualifications to:
Nominating Committee 
Nominating Committee
Sail Canada
53 Yonge Street, Kingston, ON, K7M 6G4

Any questions can be addressed to Nominating Committee Chair, Alan Lombard at

The Sail Canada by-laws are available here; Sail Canada By-laws.

The current Board of Directors and nominations received to date for election to the Board of Directors at the 2016 AGM are as follows:


Current Board of Directors

(year term expires; term number)


(received to date)



Todd Irving (’17; 1st term) – ON





Directors at Large

Janet MacMillan (’16; 1st term) – NS

Hugh McGugan (’16; 1st term) – ON

Kai Bjorn ('17; 2nd term) – QC

Richard Ballantyne (’17; 1st term) – BC

Karen McRae (’18; 1st term) – ON

Bob Greenhalgh (’18; 1st term) – ON

Janet MacMillan - NS

Hugh McGugan - ON





Athlete Directors

Hunter Lowden – BC

vacant position 


The positions of the Board of Directors will be decided by means of a vote by the membership at the Sail Canada Annual General Meeting.

The 2016 Sail Canada Annual General Meeting will be held in Halifax, NS on Friday, October 21, 2016.

Any Member entitled to vote at the Annual General Meeting shall be entitled to appoint, in writing, a proxy to attend the meeting on that Member's behalf and to exercise all voting rights. Please see the Bylaws of the Association for detailed membership and voting information.

Sail Canada is the national sports organization representing the sport of Sailing in Canada. It represents all participants, including recreational sailors, and high performance athletes at the club, provincial, national and international level.