Committees & Groups

The Sail Canada Board of Directors may constitute Program and Adhoc Committees as it deems necessary in carrying out the affairs of the Association and define their terms of reference in a Policy on Organizational Structure.

Standing Committees

Provincial Council
The Provincial Council is a standing advisory committee of the Board of Directors. The Provincial Council will consist of presidents of each provincial/territorial sailing association or their nominees, and will be responsible for alerting and advising the Board on national issues or concerns that could affect the long-term success of Sail Canada/Voile Canada as the national authority for sport of sailing in all its forms in Canada, including yachting.

BC Sailing - Paul Mendham
Alberta Sailing - Stacey Gibb 
Saskatchewan Sailing Clubs Association - Tyler Koyl
Sail Manitoba - Liz Kristjansson
Ontario Sailing - Peter Bradley
Fédération de voile du Québec - Daniel St-Onge
Sail NB - Cody Morris
Sail Nova Scotia - Jeff Nelson
Sail PEI - Kerry Marsh
Sail NL - Ryan Kelly

Nominating Committee
The Nominating Committee is a standing committee of the Board of Directors.
The Nominating Committee will consist of no less than three persons including the Past Chair and representatives of the Board and operations committees, and will be responsible for overseeing the nominating process described in By-law 4

Alan Lombard
Rich Ballantyne

Audit Committee
Alicia Damley (Chair)
Darwin Castaneda
Phong Le, CPA, CA
Dr John O'Dwyer, CPA, CA

Board Committees

Finance Committee
Bob Greenhalgh (Chair)
Mario Côté
Rob Hemming
Zac Baum

Governance Committee
Kate MacLennan (Chair)

Fundraising Ad hoc Committee
Bob Greenhalgh (Chair)
Todd Irving
Janet MacMillan
Tam Matthews
Rob Hemming
Zac Baum

Human Resources Committee
Hugh McGugan (Chair)

Operations Committees

Business Development Advisory Committee

Philip Gow
Jane Mitchell
Andrew Robertson
Scott Collinson
Trevor Maguire
Damien Etchaubard

Training and Certification Advisory Committee
Wendy Loat (Chair)
John Gourlay
Daniel Conrod
Rob McLean
Graham Fraser
Steve McBride
Helen Dam 

TCC Sub-Committees
Race Management Sub-Committee
Irene McNeill (Chair)
Madeleine Palfreeman
Daniel Conrod
John Abel
Graham Dougall
Tof Nicoll-Griffith
Robert Woodbury

Judges Sub-Committee
Joe Jospe (Chair)
Lynne Beal
Mike Turner
Katie Nicoll
Eric Turner

Umpires Sub-Committee
Andrew Alberti (Chair)
Katie Coleman Nicoll
David Pelling

CANSail Sub-Committee
Rob Lytle
Kelsey Stroppel
Mark Shippers
Peter Soosalu
Andrea Fitzgerald
Delani Hulme-Lawrence
Becky Power

Cruising Sub-Committee
Jamie Gordon (Chair)
Bob Davis
Tony Pattinson
David DeWolfe
Ian Leitch
Guy Boulanger

Racing Appeals Committee
Lynne Beal (Chair)
Don Martin
Andrew Alberti
Rick Hatch
Leo Reise
Warren Nethercote
Irene McNeill

Racing Rules Committee
Rick Hatch (chair)
Kathy Dyer
Leo Reise
Robert Stewart
Andrew Alberti
Franck Pellerin

Offshore Committee
Richard Hinterhoeller (Chair)
Will Apold
David Sutcliffe
Guy Perrin
Diane Reid