Candidates for Election

Candidates for Election

The Sail Canada Nominating Committee announces the final list of candidates for the Board of Directors to be elected at the Sail Canada Annual General Meeting on Friday, October 21, 2016 in Halifax, NS.

The current Board of Directors and final list of candidates for election to the Board of Directors are as follows; please note that the candidates' bios can be accessed by clicking on the candidates' name:


Current Board of Directors

(year term expires; term number)



Todd Irving (’17; 1st term) – ON





Directors at Large

Janet MacMillan (’16; 1st term) – NS

Hugh McGugan (’16; 1st term) – ON

Kai Bjorn ('17; 2nd term) – QC

Richard Ballantyne (’17; 1st term) – BC

Karen McRae (’18; 1st term) – ON

Bob Greenhalgh (’18; 1st term) – ON

Martha Henderson - ON

Janet MacMillan - NS

Hugh McGugan – ON

Olivia Mew - ON




Athlete Directors

Hunter Lowden – BC

Lisa Ross - NS


The positions of the Board of Directors will be decided by means of a vote by the membership at the Sail Canada Annual General Meeting.

In accordance with Sail Canada Bylaws; Directors whose nominations are unopposed shall be declared elected by acclamation by the President of the Elections. Where more nominations are received than there are positions available, an election by secret ballot will be held.

The 2016 Sail Canada Annual General Meeting will be held in Halifax, NS on Friday October 21, 2016 at 6pm ADT.
Click here for more information about the 2016 Sail Canada AGM.