Tom Ramshaw

Tom
Ramshaw

Tom Ramshaw

Bio Athlète

Tom a commencé à suivre des cours de voile à l’âge de 8 ans au Stony Lake Yacht Club, près de son chalet. Il a débuté dans le programme de voile junior SLYC comme moyen de rencontrer de nouveaux amis autour du lac. Il naviguait le Laser 2 et 29er et commençait à participer à la régate hors-lac à l’âge de 12 ans. À 14 ans, Tom commença à naviguer dans le Laser Radial et réalisa que la voile en solitaire était ce qui lui convenait le mieux. En 2007, Tom a remporté le championnat des écoles secondaires de l’Ontario et le circuit de la Gold Cup de l’Ontario, ce qui lui a valu une nouvelle coque laser.

En 2010, Tom s’est rendu à La Cruz, au Mexique, pour naviguer avec l’Académie internationale de voile, où il a passé l’hiver à s’entraîner et à travailler dans un loft à voiles. Tom savait que la voile lui permettait de poursuivre son rêve et il décida de retarder son retour à l’université afin de naviguer à temps plein. Tom se rendra à des régates au-delà de l’Amérique du Nord. Le printemps 2011 s’est passé en Europe et l’automne en Australie, où il a participé aux Championnats du monde ISAF 2011 à Perth. Il a ensuite remporté le prix commémoratif Nathan Cowan, décerné au meilleur navigateur en développement au Canada. En 2012, Tom s’est qualifié pour l’équipe canadienne de voile. Il continue de s’entraîner à temps plein dans le monde entier avec des marins internationaux d’élite en vue de la poursuite de la compétition internationale.

Tom est passé dans la classe Finn durant l’été 2015, remportant un succès rapide avec deux des 10 meilleurs résultats internationaux de l’année. Tom s’est qualifié pour le Rio et a participé à ses premiers Jeux olympiques en 2016.

Athlete Stats

VilleToronto
ClasseFinn
ClubSLYC / RCYC
Équipe2019 Équipe Canadienne de Voile

Galerie

  • From 27 January to 3 February 2019, Miami will host sailors for the second round of the 2019 Hempel World Cup Series in Coconut Grove. More than 650 sailors from 60 nations will race across the 10 Olympic Events.
©PEDRO MARTINEZ/SAILING ENERGY/WORLD SAILING
29 January, 2019.

Résultats récents

Année Compétition Emplacement Placement
2019Hempel World Cup SeriesEnoshima, Japan7th
2019Ready, Steady, Toyko Enoshima, Japan
2019Finn European Championships Athens, Greece 12th
2018Rolex Sail Canada Sailor of the YearToronto, ON

  • Rolex
  • Helly Hansen
  • Skippers' Plan
  • Bank of Montreal
  • Government of Canada

Tom Ramshaw

Tom
Ramshaw

Tom Ramshaw

Athlete Bio

Tom started sailing lessons when he was 8 years old at the Stony Lake Yacht Club, near his cottage. He began in the SLYC junior sailing program as a way to meet new friends around the lake. He was sailing Laser 2 and 29er and began competing in off-lake regatta’s when he was 12. By age 14, Tom began sailing the Radial and realized single-handed sailing was where he fit best. In 2007, Tom won the Ontario High School Championship and the Ontario Gold Cup circuit, which awarded him a new laser hull

At the end of 2010, Tom moved down to La Cruz, Mexico to sail with the International Sailing Academy, where he spent the winter training and working in a sail loft. Tom knew that sailing allowed him to pursue his dream and he decided to delay his return to university in order to sail full-time. Tom be traveling to regattas beyond North America. Spring 2011 was spent in Europe and the fall in Australia where he competed in the 2011 ISAF World Championships in Perth. He went on to win the Nathan Cowan Memorial Award, given to the best developing sailor in Canada. In 2012, Tom qualified for the Canadian Sailing Team. He continues to train full-time around the world with elite international sailors in preparation for continued international competition.

Tom switched to the Finn class during the summer of 2015, having quick success with two top 10 international results within the year. Tom qualified for the Rio and competed in his first Olympic Games in 2016.

Athlete Stats

HometownToronto
ClassFinn
ClubStoney Lake Yacht Club (SLYC) & Royal Canadian Yacht Club (RCYC)
Team2021 Canadian Sailing Team

Gallery

  • From 27 January to 3 February 2019, Miami will host sailors for the second round of the 2019 Hempel World Cup Series in Coconut Grove. More than 650 sailors from 60 nations will race across the 10 Olympic Events.
©PEDRO MARTINEZ/SAILING ENERGY/WORLD SAILING
29 January, 2019.
  • 2019 Finn Open European Championship, 10-18 May 2019 Athens International Sailing Center, Greece

Recent Results

Year Competition Location Placing
2021European ChampionshipsVilamoura, POR10
2020European ChampionshipsGdynia, Poland25
2020Kiel WeekKiel, Germany6
2019Finn World ChampionshipsMelbourne, Australia8
2019Olympic Test EventEnoshima, Japan17
2019Finn European Championships Athens, Greece 12
2019World CupEnoshima, Japan7
2019World CupMiami, USA4
2019Princess Sofia TrophyPalma, Spain37
2018Finn World ChampionshipsAarhus, Denmark5
2018European ChampionshipsCadiz, Spain21
2018World Cup FinalMarseille, France9
2018World Cup Miami, USA13
2018World CupHyeres, FRA16
2018Kiel WeekKiel, Germany24
2017World ChampionshipsBataltonfoldvar, Hungary22
2017European ChampionshipsMarseille, France19
2017World CupHyeres13
2017Princess Sofia TrophyPalma, Spain24
2017World CupMiami12
2016Olympic GamesRio de Janeiro, Brazil21
2016World ChampionshipsGaeta, Italy8
2016European ChampionshipsBarcelona, Spain10

  • Rolex
  • Helly Hansen
  • Gallagher Skippers' Plan
  • BMO Sail Canada MasterCard
  • Government of Canada