Announcing the 2016-17 National Team

Announcing the 2016-17 National Team

Thursday, May 26, 2016 – Kingston, ON
Immediate Release

Today Sail Canada announced members of the 2016-17 National Sailing Team. 36 talented sailors were named to the National team this week based on the Sport Canada carding criteria and overall performance during the 2015-16 season. Members of the team branch into four tiers – Podium (Top 3 WC), Podium Potential (4-10th WC), Senior Team (11-16th WC) and Development Team.

Podium performer and veteran Paul Tingley is prepping for a significant year in his sailing career. “This is a big year for us. We will leave no stone unturned this year as we build towards the Paralympic Games in Rio.” Paul and his teammates Scott Lutes and Logan Campbell are currently competing at the Para World Championships in Medemblik.

Pan Am silver medalist Luke Ramsay has successfully transitioned through three classes as a member of the National team, attributing his longevity in the sport to adaptability. “You never know what opportunity is around the corner. By working hard at learning all aspects of sailing, doors will open for you in the future in ways you might not have expected. I had no idea I would go from lasers to 470's to Nacras but the skills I developed when I was young have helped me through the transitions between classes.
High Performance Director Ken Dool is preparing the team for the pinnacle year in the quadrennial. "While the Olympic Games is a focal point in the coming months, we are continuously looking ahead to our future performers", states Ken Dool. "I take pleasure in welcoming both new team members and veteran performers to the 2016-17 Canadian Sailing Team."

Sail Canada would like thank our supporters Sport Canada, Own the Podium, Volvo Cars of Canada, Helly Hansen and Skippers’ Plan, Rolex Canada & North Country Marine.

Congratulations to the following members of the 2016-17 National Sailing Team:

Podium Team
Paul Tingley- Halifax NS, RNSYS – Sonar 
Scott Lutes – Sonar Class – Montreal, QC – AQVA – Sonar 
Logan Campbell – Saskatoon, SK – Sonar 

Podium Potential Team
John McRoberts – Victoria, BC – RVicYC – SKUD 
Jackie Gay – Victoria, BC, RVicYC – SKUD 
Brenda Bowskill – Whitby, ON – RCYC – Laser Radial
Tom Ramshaw – Toronto, ON – SLYC – Finn

Senior National Team
Nikola Girke – Vancouver, BC – RVYC – Nacra 17
Luke Ramsay – Vancouver, Bc – RVYC – Nacra 17
Erin Rafuse – Halifax, NS – RNSYS – 49erFX
Dannie Boyd - Kingston, ON - KYC - 49erFX
Lee Parkhill – Toronto, ON – RCYC – Laser
Bruce Millar – Victoria, BC – RvicYC – 2.4mR

Development Team
Isabella Bertold – Vancouver, BC – RVYC – Laser Radial
Robert Davis – Kingston, ON – KYC/RCYC – Laser
Sarah Douglas – Toronto, ON – ABYC – Laser Radial
Peter Eager – Toronto, ON – NYC – 2.4mR
Max Gallant – Victoria, BC – RvicYC - Laser
John and Arthur Ferguson – Toronto, ON – RCYC – 49er
Kyle Martin – Vancouver, BC – RVYC - Finn
Evert McLaughlin – Toronto, ON – RCYC – Laser
Olivia Mew – Toronto, ON – RCYC – RSX: W
David Mori and Justin Barnes – Toronto, ON – RCYC – 49er
Corinne Peters – Bedford, NS – RNSYS – Laser Radial
Martin Robitaille – Deux-Montagnes, QC – CVL/RCYC - Finn
Matt Ryder –Toronto, ON – SLYC - Laser
Jacob Saunders and Graeme Saunders – Halifax, NS – RNSYS – 470 Men
Cameron Sawyer and Max Flinn – Ottawa ON & Chester, NS – RNSYS – 49er
Ali TenHove – Kingston, ON – KYC – 470 Women
Allie Surrette – Halifax, NS – RNSYS – 470 Women
Gabriel Verrier-Paquette – Montreal, QC – CDVM – RSX Men
Coralie Vittecoq – Montreal, QC – HYC – Laser Radial


Further information:
Colleen Coderre
Communications Manager
Sail Canada
613-545-3044 ext. 106