2019 Sail Canada Senior Championships at CORK OCR

2019 Sail Canada Senior Championships at CORK OCR

 Saturday, August 17, 2019 - Kingston, ON

Racing at the 2019 Sail Canada Senior Championships kicked off today at CORK OCR in Kingston. Athletes in the Laser, Radial, 49er, 49erFX and Finn fleet will take to lake Ontario for four days of racing with many of our Canadian Sailing Development Squad athletes competing.

While day one of racing brought winds from the west and southwest, heavy cloud coverage and rain meant there was no Kingston thermal for sailors. The weather brought shifty winds of 6 - 9 knots.

Leading the 49er fleet after 4 races is Canadian Sailing Development Squad members Ryan and Andrew Wood (RVYC) with 3 bullets on day 1. Cameron and Alec Baird (RSTLYC) and CSDS members Sam and Will Bonin (RCYC) are currently sitting in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

In the 49erFX fleet, Charlie Hibben and Jana Laurendeau (USA) are sitting in first place, CSDS members Georgia Lewin-Lafrance and Antonia Lewin-Lafrance (RNSYS) are sitting in 2nd and Lucy Wilmot and Nathan Housberg (USA) are sitting in third.

On the single-handed course, after three bullets CSDS member Kyle Martin (RVYC) is leading the Finn fleet with Stephen Smeulders (USA) and Quinton Gallon (BYC) sitting in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

In the Laser fleet Chase Carraway (USA) is sitting in 1st, Leo Boucher (USA) is sitting in 2nd, and CDSD member Noah Collinson (RCYC) is sitting in 3rd after 3 races.

Talia Toland (USA) is leading the Radial fleet, followed by CSDS Coralie Vittecoq (RSTLYC) in 2nd and Braden Johnson (FBYC) in 3rd.

Stay tuned for updates and results throughout the event!

See full results on the Event Website

Photo: Luka Bartulovic - Sailing Shot


About Sail Canada
Established in 1931, Sail Canada is the national governing body for the sport of sailing. The Association promotes sailing in all its forms including yachting through collaboration with our partners, the Provincial Sailing Associations, member clubs, schools, and many individual stakeholders.