Kingston thermal treated sailors for the final day of the Canadian Senior Championships!

Kingston thermal treated sailors for the final day of the Canadian Senior Championships!


Tuesday, August 20, 2019


Sailors at the Sail Canada Senior Championships at CORK OCR had another great sailing day for the final day of racing. While the winds did not reach the same high speeds as yesterday, sailors sailed in a beautiful 9 - 14 knots SW breeze. 


On the skiff course, the 49er fleet completed five races. The Wood brothers (RVYC / CSDS) kept to the front of the fleet with two 2nd place finishes, placing them in first overall, marking them the 49er Canadian champions. 


The 49erFX fleet sailed 5 races today, the Lewin Lafrance sisters, Georgia and Antonia secured a second-place overall. 


In the Radial fleet, Canadian Sailing Development Squad member Coralie Vittecoq did not let up for the final, securing 2 more bullets, securing the title of Senior Canadian Radial Champion with room to spare. 


The top sailors on the Laser course went into the final day of racing knowing it was a fight for anyone to win. Chase Carraway (USA) and Leo Boucher (USA) were tied in first place with 31 points, Luke Ruitneberg (CSDS/RNSYS) was right behind them with 32 points and on his heels were Noah Collinson (CSDS/RCYC) and Justin Norton (BYC) tied with 33 points, James Juhasz (OST) with 35 points and Hugh Macrae (CSDS/ KYC) with 36 points. 


Kyle Martin continued his event streak of first places with three more bullets today, securing his position as Canadian Finn Champion.  


Thank you to all the race officials, judges, scorers and volunteers who made this event possible! 


Final Results 

In the 49er;

1st-  Ryan and Andrew Wood (RVYC) - Canadian Sailing Development Squad

2nd - Trevor Parekh and Marc Farmer (RSTLYC)

3rd- Sam Merson and Severin Gramm (ODP/MBYC/2NINNE) 


 In the 49ERFX;

1st- Charlie Hibben and Jana Laurendea (USA)

2nd- Georgia and Antonia Lewin LaFrance (RNSYS) - Canadian Sailing Development Squad

3rd- Lucy Wilmot and Nathan Housber (USA)

In the Laser;

1st- Chase Carraway (USA)

2nd- Leo Boucher (USA)

3rd- Luke Ruitenberg (RNSYS) - Canadian Sailing Development Squad

In the Laser Radial;

1st - Coralie Vittecoq (PCYC) - Canadian Sailing Development Squad

2nd- Talia Toland (USA)

3rd- Clara Gravely (ABYC) - Canadian Sailing Development Squad

In the Finn;

1st - Kyle Martin (RVYC) - Canadian Sailing Development Squad

2nd- Quiton Gallon (BYC)

3rd- Stephen Smeulders (USA)


Photo -  Elle Bruce


About Sail Canada

Established in 1931, Sail Canada is the national governing body for the sport of sailing. The Association promotes sailing in all its forms including yachting through collaboration with our partners, the Provincial Sailing Associations, member clubs, schools, and many individual stakeholders.