Home » National Coaching Awards

National Coaching Awards

CYA Coach of the Year Award

This award was established in 1998 to recognize an instructor/coach who has contributed to the advancement of sailing at the club/school level. The candidate must:

a) Be a CYA Learn to Sail Instructor/Coach Level 1, 2 or 3 in good standing with the Canadian Yachting Association.

b) Have shown leadership qualities with respect to the programs at club or community level.

c) Through his/her behaviour and manner, have set an example for other instructors/coaches.

d) Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada.

Previous winners:

2009 Lennie Liscio
2008 Steve McBride
2007 Kevin Eames
2006 Sarah Urquhart
2004 Cam Watt
2003 Lee Simms
2002 Kimberley Case
2001 Anton Mihic
2000 Tommy Wharton
1999 Wes Smith
1998 Krzysztof Machnowski