Tuesday, January 08, 2013

The Marvin McDill Memorial Award was established to honour the man who returned Canada to the America's Cup Competition in 1983, challenging through the Secret Cove Yacht Club. Also known as the Canadian Sailing Team Rookie of the Year Award, the Marvin McDill Award is presented annually to the athlete or crew with the best results at their first Open World Championship as a member of the Canadian Sailing Team. This year’s recipient, Tom Ramshaw from Toronto, Ontario was awarded the Nathan Cowan Memorial Award just last year. Tom trains full-time around the world with elite international sailors in preparation for continued international competition and hopes to qualify to represent Canada at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. Ramshaw was 2nd at CORK OCR 2012, 3rd at the Paulista Championship in Sao Paulo 2012, 6th at the Canadian Laser Championships 2012, 20th at the Delta Lloyd Regatta 2012 and 54th at the Skandia Sail for Gold Regatta 2012.  


"Over the last year I've worked full-time on fitness and sailing, trying to get better results, so for me winning the Marvin McDill award is a really nice way to get recognized for my efforts over the past year." Says Ramshaw, "So many people have contributed to my sailing success, the largest contributor being my parents. They've supported my decision to compete full-time right from the day I left university and they have helped me out financially when I'm short on funds for important events. Another huge contributor to my success is Vaughn Harrison, who has coached me since I was 12. Without him I never would have continued sailing competitively past the junior racing programs and he still coaches me at a high level today. The International Sailing Academy (link here) that he owns in La Cruz, Mexico has also helped me out hugely."
Ramshaw will be receiving his award on January 19th 2013 at The Carlu in Toronto at the annual Sail Canada Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards
For more info on Tom visit his website www.tomramshaw.com 
For information on other recipients click here.

Photo Credit, Tom Ramshaw