Monday, February 06, 2012


Photo credit: Bob Thayer
Sailors and sailing supporters from across the country came together on February 4th to enjoy a fantastic evening of celebration. The Canadian Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards was definitely an evening to remember!
The highly attended event honoured the achievements and successes of sailing’s best…
Bill Burk Youth Elite Memorial Award Winners;
Female - Fréderique Tougas / Florence Pepin-Delhaes
Male – Kyle Campbell Martin
Marvin McDill Award Winner - Ingrid Merry
Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award for Developing SailorsThomas Ramshaw
William Abbott Sr. TrophyRoyal Victoria Yacht Club
City of Kingston Regatta of the Year Award - Royal Hamilton Yacht Club and Burlington Sailing & Boating Club
For the Rotary Mobility Cup 2011
Chisholm Trophy for Excellence in Race ManagementSt. Margaret Sailing Club
For the 2011 Trihedral CYA National Sailing Championships
CYA Volunteer of the YearRon Rubadeau, and Marilea McAllister & Ethel Thayer
Coach of the Year AwardMurray McCullough
Gerry Roufs TrophyWill Apold
CYA Male Athlete of the Year - Al Clark
President’s AwardGrant Hood (owner) and Oskar Johansson (Helm)
For The Royal Canadian Yacht Club’s Canada’s Cup victory
President’s AwardJohn Hele (owner) and Terry McLaughlin (Helm)
For The Royal Canadian Yacht Club’s NYYC invitational Cup victory
Rolex Sailor of the Year – Paul D Phelan
For 25 years Rolex Canada has proudly sponsored the Rolex Sailor of the Year!