Thursday, September 01, 2011

This year nominations for the position of President and two Directors at Large are now open. 
Nominations for the President and two positions of Director at Large are to be received by CYA no later than September 10, 2011.
The Canadian Yachting Association Board of Directors is comprised of the President, six Directors at Large, and two Athlete Directors. 
The Board of Directors has the responsibility to oversee the conduct of the business of the Canadian Yachting Association and to supervise the Executive Director, who is delegated responsibility for the day-to-day conduct of business of the CYA. Any responsibility not delegated to the Executive Director or a committee of the Board remains with the Board.
CYA is looking for individuals who possess core skills as well as excellent strategic skills, and are capable of seeing the “Big Picture”.  People who have a passion for the sport of sailing. Any interested individuals who are prepared to help shape the future of the sport of Sailing in Canada should send their name, contact information and qualifications to the Nominating Committee Chair at  or by regular mail to:
Chair, Nominating Committee
Canadian Yachting Association
53 Yonge Street
Kingston, ON K7M 6G4
Fax: 613-545-3045
The President of the CYA is elected for a 2 year term, and each of the Directors is elected for a 3 year term. The President and Directors at Large may not serve more than two terms in succession.
The 2011 CYA Annual General Meeting will mark the end of the second two year term of the President and first three year term of two Director at large positions on the Board of Directors.
The current Board of Directors and nominations received to date for election to the Board of Directors at the 2011 AGM are as follows:
Current Board of Directors
(year term expires; term number)
(received to date)
Gerry Giffin (’11; 2nd term) – NS
 Alan Lombard – QC
Directors at Large
Alan Lombard (’11; 1st term) – QC
Gillian Thomson (’11; 1st term) – BC
Christine Searle (’12; 1st term) – ON
John Kerr (’12; 1st term) – ON
Todd Irving (’13; 2nd term) – ON
Kevin Stewart (’13; 2nd term) – MB
Gillian Thompson – BC
Kai Bjorn – QC
Douglas Perkins – QC
Athlete Directors*
Richard Clarke – BC
vacant position
*The Directors of the Association who serve as the two Athlete Directors shall be elected by all currently carded Canadian Sailing Team Athletes in a process to be determined by these athletes.
The positions of the Board of Directors will be decided by means of a vote by the membership at the CYA Annual General Meeting.
The 2011 CYA Annual General Meeting will be held in Kingston, Ontario at the Portsmouth Olympic Harbour on Saturday, October 29, 2011.
Any Member entitled to vote at the Annual General Meeting shall be entitled to appoint, in writing, a proxy to attend the meeting on that Member's behalf and to exercise all voting rights. Please see the Bylaws of the Association for detailed membership and voting information.

The Canadian Yachting Association (CYA) is the national sports organization representing the sport of Sailing in Canada. It represents all participants, including recreational sailors, and high performance athletes at the club, provincial, national and international level.