Thursday, January 27, 2011


Fred Eaton on right with crew Magnus Clarke. Photo credit:  Christophe Launay

Canadian Rolex Sailor of the Year
The Board of Directors of the Canadian Yachting Association proudly declares that Fredrik Eaton, of Toronto, ON is the winner of the 2010 Canadian Rolex Sailor of the Year Award.
Fred Eaton was selected from Canadian sailors who were nominated for their outstanding sailing performances during 2010. His crowning achievement was the retention of the International C Class Catamaran Championship in Newport, Rhode Island in August, partnering with Magnus Clarke. Runner–up James Spithill, the 2010 America’s Cup winning helm, said in a letter supporting Fred’s nomination:  “Glenn Ashby and I were fortunate enough to have Fred offer his winning C Class Catamaran for the C Class Championship in Newport. He could have easily not chartered it out, but Fred did, and gave it to a couple of guys who were at that time on the top of their game. This to me shows how much of a competitor Fred is and that he wanted to win by beating the best and winning on the water.”
The other CYA awards announced were:
CYA Male Athlete of the Year  - Paul Tingley, Nova Scotia
CYA Volunteer of the Year - Mike Heseltine, Saskatchewan
Gerry Roufs Trophy - Richard Oland, New Brunswick
Bill Burk Youth Elite Memorial Award
Female - Erin Berry and Jessica Round, British Columbia
Male - Alexander Heinzemann, British Columbia
Marvin McDill Award - Greg Douglas, Ontario
Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award - Tyler Meyrick, Ontario
City of Kingston Regatta of the Year Award -  Sturgeon Lake Sailing Club, Ontario
For the 2010 Canadian Laser Masters Championships
CYA Recreation Event AwardNova Scotia Yachting Association Mobile Sailing School
Coach of the Year Award - Rob Douglas, British Columbia
William Abbott Sr. Trophy - BC Sailing Mobile Optimist Sailing School
Rolex Canada is the proud sponsor of the Canadian Sailor of the Year.
The Awards Presentation dinner will take place February 26th 2011 at the Carlu, Toronto Click here for details of the event . Further details of the awards and the criteria are available at